Brave New World

Hello and Welcome to this blog of fiction fantasies.

I am Courtney Sloan, and I am brazenly taking my first bold steps into the fast paced world of fiction writing. Okay, you caught me. I am actually peering around the corner into this exciting world that I’ve watched from the shadows for many years.

In my sane, a relative term, day job, I help college students and other writers hone their craft, but a surprise came from all this helping. My skills began to grow and gain the notice of those around me. People I respected started to ask about my writing. Stories began to take on a life of their own, and I did the only thing I could. Hold on for dear life and see where these characters took me.

And so here I am.

Attempting to make this madcap dream a reality, I have started this blog to share this growth and journey with others out there. From the trials of writing and revising, to the tricks I learn from other writers I learn from, to industry practices and simply musings on writing, I want to share it here in the hope that I can share from others. We can learn from each other. I also hope to update on my latest projects and stages of work, as well as give tid-bits from new works and stories.

I know there is so much to learn. So, hang on and let’s see where this crazy ride takes us.

About Courtney Sloan

A New Orleans native, Courtney Sloan relocated to the hills of Central Maryland after Hurricane Katrina. There she lives with her husband and fellow author, J.P. Sloan, their son and their crazy German Shepherd pup. Adding to her writing life, Courtney is also a professor at the local college and enjoys learning a world of new ideas from her students as she teaches them about writing and communicating. Courtney’s New Orleans upbringing has left her with a love for the macabre and a flare for the next to normal. She writes speculative fiction with a variety of horror and sass mixed in for flavor. She loves taking the world of politics that haunts us now, and adding the supernatural to create a gumbo of thrills to keep you up at night. A self-proclaimed lover of way too many fandoms, Courtney also loves crafting. From blankets to jams to stories, it’s always better homemade. View all posts by Courtney Sloan

Leave a Reply

