Journey to Space

What’s there to say on how I ended up in Sci-Fi Paranormal Romance?

I have been interested in writing for a long time, but never had the courage to share any of it. I first tried my hand at long format fiction (a whole thirty pages) when I was in sixth grade, even did the illustrations myself. It was a rousing tale of a hard alliterative detective and was bad beyond words. But it was there and got me thinking. This was fun. Creating ideas and stories that no one else would ever write just the way I did. Something in this world that was truly unique to me.

Over my high school and college days, my writing came in spurts of ideas, but ended before I would cross the finish line. Never convinced that it was worth the paper, I would stop and chuck it, before anyone else could discover it and crush it.

But I would read anything and everything. As I read, I kept saying, “I want to be able to do that,” and, the common cry of most writers, “Hey, that was my idea three stories ago.” But confidence wasn’t there, and that’s what it takes to finish a manuscript. Well, that and the fortitude of the gods.

One idea, however, wouldn’t leave me. An idea so far from my original detective story, it was unrecognizable. Thoughts of vampires and deep space stations and action and horror and what ifs kept circling over and over, year after year. But who was I to write such a story? Come on, even Hollywood kept getting these stories wrong, and they were getting big bucks to get it wrong every time.

Then one day driving in the car, I pitched it to my husband, and, wouldn’t you know, he liked it. And through his support and patience, my current project, Black Sun, was born a strange mixture of Paranormal and Sci-fi and Romance gone horribly wrong. It has been several years in the making, and it’s getting great feedback from beta readers and critique groups alike.

Last year I completed the first draft. Then I followed Ray Bradbury’s advice for 6 months and put it away. Currently, I have dusted it off and am revising it within an inch of its life. While drowning book one in red ink, I am also outlining and drafting books two and three in what I plan on being a series.

Thus writing is the perpetual motion machine, always moving forward as to never become stale or buried.

About Courtney Sloan

A New Orleans native, Courtney Sloan relocated to the hills of Central Maryland after Hurricane Katrina. There she lives with her husband and fellow author, J.P. Sloan, their son and their crazy German Shepherd pup. Adding to her writing life, Courtney is also a professor at the local college and enjoys learning a world of new ideas from her students as she teaches them about writing and communicating. Courtney’s New Orleans upbringing has left her with a love for the macabre and a flare for the next to normal. She writes speculative fiction with a variety of horror and sass mixed in for flavor. She loves taking the world of politics that haunts us now, and adding the supernatural to create a gumbo of thrills to keep you up at night. A self-proclaimed lover of way too many fandoms, Courtney also loves crafting. From blankets to jams to stories, it’s always better homemade. View all posts by Courtney Sloan

2 responses to “Journey to Space

Leave a Reply

