Lessons Learned on my Dates

Revisions are moving along swimmingly. I’ve gone through three chapters in two days. I’m very happy with the progress and momentum I’ve picked up. If I keep this up, I’ll easily make my deadline. The dates with my vampire are paying off. Spending this time with him, I’ve discovered some interesting tidbits.

date

Sunlight optional dates

1)      Patterns are real. My speed has been picking up because I know what I should be looking for. I also think this will make writing book two go so much smoother.

2)      Following number one, when patterns are found, find/replace is my best friend. It helps make sure I don’t miss anything carelessly.

3)      I much prefer doing markups on paper then transferring the changes to the computer manuscript. Seeing the words there in print, just as my readers will, I feel the story more and catch more items that need to be changed. From continuity to grammar, printing it out and holding it my hand makes it real.

4)      Next time I will do the full formatting from the start. Half my time doing these revisions feels like it’s being spent on spacing, font, type, lines, etc. I want to let the computer handle that for me from the beginning. That way, I can concentrate on the characters and the story they’re telling me.

5)      Music helps!

6)      It’s fun to go back and catch the clues laced into the story I forgot I put in.

There are many more lessons to come, I’m sure. Right now, the main thing is to keep going and stay consistent. I hope he brings me roses tonight.

About Courtney Sloan

A New Orleans native, Courtney Sloan relocated to the hills of Central Maryland after Hurricane Katrina. There she lives with her husband and fellow author, J.P. Sloan, their son and their crazy German Shepherd pup. Adding to her writing life, Courtney is also a professor at the local college and enjoys learning a world of new ideas from her students as she teaches them about writing and communicating. Courtney’s New Orleans upbringing has left her with a love for the macabre and a flare for the next to normal. She writes speculative fiction with a variety of horror and sass mixed in for flavor. She loves taking the world of politics that haunts us now, and adding the supernatural to create a gumbo of thrills to keep you up at night. A self-proclaimed lover of way too many fandoms, Courtney also loves crafting. From blankets to jams to stories, it’s always better homemade. View all posts by Courtney Sloan

3 responses to “Lessons Learned on my Dates

  • J.P. Sloan

    I certainly agree with #3. When I edit your material, I do it three times faster if I have a literal pen or pencil in my hand and I’m scratching my notes onto paper. For whatever reason, it just takes longer to edit on-screen. Odd, considering the reverse is true for writing the original!

  • R & J

    Well, a nice place to have a date, hope Jason mind,ha! you really seem to enjoy it, kkep it up!

  • R & J

    sorry, wrong place, still is a nice place for a date, keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

