Working Vacations are Golden

And I’m back. Sorry for the sudden disappearance. I went on a wonderful vacation with my family, but health problems caused the German doctors to forbid me to fly (stupid respiratory infections). Thus I was late getting back and then had to deal with the multitude of factors when I got back on this side of the pond.

Talk about inspiration.

I do come back with good news. I took my manuscript with me and worked on it diligently while enjoying the beauty of the southern German Alps.  While I was at the lake in the mountains or sitting outside in the countryside or relaxing with my husband and family with a nice beer or wine, my manuscript was a constant companion. Plus, I got some good inspiration on how to make that Road Home section much more concrete.

With all this working vacation, I can proudly state that my first level revisions are completed, including the section rewrite. I am much happier with it now. It’s more compelling and the characters have more depth as they stare at the sequel to come.

Also I brought along clean copies of the first eight chapters, through the point of no return, and got great reviews from my first Beta Readers, and many of them are even off genre. So I will call this a very productive working vacation.

Now I have to enter the revisions from my hard copy onto the electronic master, redo my chapter breaks and numberings and get the whole thing out to full Beta Readers. At the same time, I will start drafting my pitch, synopsis and query letters to start searching for that Holy Grail, the agent.

A very exciting time to be sure.

About Courtney Sloan

A New Orleans native, Courtney Sloan relocated to the hills of Central Maryland after Hurricane Katrina. There she lives with her husband and fellow author, J.P. Sloan, their son and their crazy German Shepherd pup. Adding to her writing life, Courtney is also a professor at the local college and enjoys learning a world of new ideas from her students as she teaches them about writing and communicating. Courtney’s New Orleans upbringing has left her with a love for the macabre and a flare for the next to normal. She writes speculative fiction with a variety of horror and sass mixed in for flavor. She loves taking the world of politics that haunts us now, and adding the supernatural to create a gumbo of thrills to keep you up at night. A self-proclaimed lover of way too many fandoms, Courtney also loves crafting. From blankets to jams to stories, it’s always better homemade. View all posts by Courtney Sloan

Leave a Reply

