The Impossible Dream

Piece by piece, bit by bit, it’s all coming together. Two years in the making, and by the end of this week, Black Sun should be fully written, revised, edited and ready for Beta Readers. Writing this has been an exciting adventure in its own right, but I must say, I’m looking forward to getting back to the writing process with all my notes on book two, Black Moon. The scenes are haunting my thoughts and dreams, begging to come out onto paper. I must oblige.

Holy Grail

As opposed to my current Holy Grail

While I get to start off in this new adventure, I must continue the next obstacles on this original one. In order to try and find the Holy Grail of an Agent and Publisher, I must draft a series of topnotch query letters and synopsis of my work. About eighty-five thousand words and four hundred pages whittled down to a few paragraphs for the query. Plus, it needs to be done in such a way to catch the Agent’s attention in the multitude of letters he/she will have received that day alone. No small task.

So, I am trying to remove all hubris and do this the same way we do most things for the first time: learn. We don’t know innately how to tie our shoe, until someone teaches us. We can’t make chicken ala king for the first time, without a recipe to guide us. Thus, I am looking to the experts for techniques, tips and tricks to all these parts and pieces of the publishing process itself.

Right now I am doing research for what authors and the agents themselves are saying about it. Sample letters, the good, the bad and the horrible, are all over the internet, so I am devouring them. Last but not least, I am signing up for a course on publishing done by a respected author in her field, Meredith Bond. Anyone can check her out from my Blogroll or at

http://www.meredithbond.com/

But I am lucky enough to have her teaching at the same school where I teach. Thus, I will be putting on my student hat and soaking up all the knowledge I can from her about the current state of the industry and publishing. Can’t tell you all how much I am looking forward to it.

About Courtney Sloan

A New Orleans native, Courtney Sloan relocated to the hills of Central Maryland after Hurricane Katrina. There she lives with her husband and fellow author, J.P. Sloan, their son and their crazy German Shepherd pup. Adding to her writing life, Courtney is also a professor at the local college and enjoys learning a world of new ideas from her students as she teaches them about writing and communicating. Courtney’s New Orleans upbringing has left her with a love for the macabre and a flare for the next to normal. She writes speculative fiction with a variety of horror and sass mixed in for flavor. She loves taking the world of politics that haunts us now, and adding the supernatural to create a gumbo of thrills to keep you up at night. A self-proclaimed lover of way too many fandoms, Courtney also loves crafting. From blankets to jams to stories, it’s always better homemade. View all posts by Courtney Sloan

Leave a Reply

