To Resolve or Not to Resolve

Yes, I know. Bastardizing Shakespeare is a poor man’s wit. Or maybe that was something about Shakespearean punneries. But the question still stands.

We are only ten days into 2015, and I have read post after post about what a crock New Year’s Resolutions are, while the other side is posting promise after promise. Even Forbes had a list of resolutions that will change your life FOREVER! And it leaves a girl wondering what to do.

Resolutions are supposed to be positive affirmations we pledge to ourselves, the universe, God, the dark forces, whatever gets us going. Most people know that they are not going to follow through when they just tell themselves in the dark corners of their mind on New Year’s Day, so they have traditions to make these affirmations more real and boast about them in person and online in the hopes that others will make them more accountable than their own willpower can deliver. And thus are most gyms filled to capacity in January.

And back to business as usual by March. Sigh. So do they work at all?

To decide, I go as my mother has taught me to my elders for guidance. The man of writing and wit himself, Oscar Wilde has a strong opinion on the matter. He said, “Good resolutions are useless attempts to interfere with scientific laws. Their origin is pure vanity. Their result is absolutely nil. They give us, now and then, some of those luxurious sterile emotions that have a certain charm for the weak…. They are simply cheques that men draw on a bank where they have no account.”

Well, there you go. Wilde has spoken, the answer given. Case Closed. End of post. Break the set and see you at the afterparty, folks.

But only a fool would ignore their own experiences in life for the comfort of words from a source who’s never walked a day in their shoes. Crap, okay, time to examine.

Last Year’s Resolutions:

Become healthier & stick with the gym. Result: I have become a regular at the gym so much so that people I still don’t know the name of comment on my progress. I have also lost over 10% body fat.

Finish my current crafting projects & learn a new craft. Result: I am current on my cross-stitching projects from last year and I’ve learned to crochet. Working on my first blanket.

Check off something from my bucket list: I flew a plane for the first time.

Make significant progress professionally on my writing. Result: OF SCIONS AND MEN was completed, revised from BETA readers, and completed fully. More on this on another post.

Action speaks louder than words. (Sorry, Mr. Wilde. I still love you.) Yes, resolutions can make a difference. I felt each of these check marks, and they drove me to do even more than I set out to do. So I’m a girl convinced and will dedicate myself even more this year.

That's my promise to each of you.

That’s my promise to each of you.

About Courtney Sloan

A New Orleans native, Courtney Sloan relocated to the hills of Central Maryland after Hurricane Katrina. There she lives with her husband and fellow author, J.P. Sloan, their son and their crazy German Shepherd pup. Adding to her writing life, Courtney is also a professor at the local college and enjoys learning a world of new ideas from her students as she teaches them about writing and communicating. Courtney’s New Orleans upbringing has left her with a love for the macabre and a flare for the next to normal. She writes speculative fiction with a variety of horror and sass mixed in for flavor. She loves taking the world of politics that haunts us now, and adding the supernatural to create a gumbo of thrills to keep you up at night. A self-proclaimed lover of way too many fandoms, Courtney also loves crafting. From blankets to jams to stories, it’s always better homemade. View all posts by Courtney Sloan

Leave a Reply

