Leap: A Special Year Indeed

Hi Dark Dreamers,

This year is already interesting. A campaign year like no other. Weather shifts giving us all seasons in one week. Huge jumps in science in both the Mars project and cancer research. And last but not least, last week my new adult dark urban fantasy, OF SCIONS AND MEN met the world. Vampires, shifters and mediums, oh my!

And the world greeted it well. In fact the numbers were a lot better than I thought they’d be. In fact, by the end of my first day out my numbers on just Amazon did this:

#240 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > Horror > Occult
#246 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > Horror > Dark Fantasy
#287 in Books > Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Horror > Dark Fantasy

Tres excited didn’t being to describe me. But that wasn’t all.

Frederick Community College, one of the colleges I teach for, hosted my book launch in their brand new Learning Commons. This space is amazing. A one stop space for our students’ learning and working needs. All light and glass. In fact, I have taken to going up there and writing when I’m not on duty. Looking out on the grounds and the snow, couldn’t ask for better. But I have let myself get distracted by shiny.

20160222_180205

They catered and marketed the event, and when the night came, we had nearly 60 or so people attending. The bookstore bought 50 books to sell, and they sold them all.

20160222_180616

The evening itself started with me reading from the book and then a question and answer section. Guess what? People really asked questions, and very intelligent ones at that. Their interest and insight humbled me. And I even got a few laughs. All in all, a win.

 

 

Then the moment that every author waits for happened. People actually wanted, and lined up for, me to sign their copies of my book. I was honored and learned so much more by doing this. I signed and personalized books, posters, bookmarks and pictures. Students of mine from both colleges attended, and many that I have never met before but was glad to meet that night.

After the signing, I was lucky enough that my launch fell on National Margarita Day! Thus my mother, sister, husband and I headed off to continue celebrating. These ladies honored me by flying in just for my launch. Their and my eldest sister’s support have made me the woman I am today. I would never have been able to accomplish this without them.

20160222_210353

Even flowers showed up for this day. Thank you everyone who shared this once in a lifetime moment with me. There will be other signings and books, but this one will always be my first.

20160223_140239

About Courtney Sloan

A New Orleans native, Courtney Sloan relocated to the hills of Central Maryland after Hurricane Katrina. There she lives with her husband and fellow author, J.P. Sloan, their son and their crazy German Shepherd pup. Adding to her writing life, Courtney is also a professor at the local college and enjoys learning a world of new ideas from her students as she teaches them about writing and communicating. Courtney’s New Orleans upbringing has left her with a love for the macabre and a flare for the next to normal. She writes speculative fiction with a variety of horror and sass mixed in for flavor. She loves taking the world of politics that haunts us now, and adding the supernatural to create a gumbo of thrills to keep you up at night. A self-proclaimed lover of way too many fandoms, Courtney also loves crafting. From blankets to jams to stories, it’s always better homemade. View all posts by Courtney Sloan

Leave a Reply

