Chatting about Change: Übermensch revealed

Good morning Dark Dreamers,

These past couple of weeks have been exciting and busy, filled with an exciting secret project for this dark author’s world and her mark on New Adult urban fantasy. I promise, there will be more on that soon, and it’s going to be huge!

Change is hard, but also good. And necessary. As our current president, Barack Obama, said “Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.” This is shown in many of the recent reviews for OF SCIONS AND MEN. Many people have mentioned that one thing they liked about the book is that even in the short span of one book, character growth is not only evident but enjoyed. We see this importance in story and story. The monomyth relies on the handy-dandy character feature. Our hero/heroine needs to grow and change to become something more than before. Something more than every day.

This is why it is important to have a character who has room to grow and an author willing to be humble and create a flawed child of literature. Flaws not only allow characters to be more accessible to the audience, but give the characters themselves some way to go. Perfect characters, though a god/goddess among us mere mortals, give very little room to grow and change and thus overcome adversity.

One name for this is the Superman effect. Superman began as the Übermensch, a super human who was a lot closer to a Lex than farm boy alien Clark Kent. But sci-fi and the need for perfection against our enemies across the sea created something even bigger. A hero that was so perfect, he wasn’t even allowed to be human. A hero that was so powerful, no one or nothing on Earth could affect him. Huzzah!

superman-1016318_1920

Except thrown guns…I have to dodge those.

But it wasn’t long before this motif became boring. If nothing could beat him, why try. So the writers had to make up reasons for him to lose his powers, or part of his powers, for an episode or two, and then overcome the handicap to win. However, this was the opposite direction than we normally want to go. We want to change to be stronger, grow to be better, not falter to be worse. Do we really want our heroes to come down to the villain’s level? Thus we had the birth of other heroes. Heroes who were mere mortals but had to grow, learn and struggle to beat every obstacle. Heroes we could more relate to and inspire us to be stronger and better ourselves.

Normally in these blogs, I move from everyday life into literature. But today we will do the opposite. Literature is supposed to inspire, and today it does. Change is hard. But without it we can grow to become our own heroes. We are the ones we’ve been waiting on. As I say in martial arts all the time, “Self-Rescuing Princess”. We can stand taller than the Übermensch through our own choices and changes.

For my first change, I will start having my blogs coming out each Monday morning.

So let’s take a poll. Tell me in the comments, What change could you make to improve your life?

About Courtney Sloan

A New Orleans native, Courtney Sloan relocated to the hills of Central Maryland after Hurricane Katrina. There she lives with her husband and fellow author, J.P. Sloan, their son and their crazy German Shepherd pup. Adding to her writing life, Courtney is also a professor at the local college and enjoys learning a world of new ideas from her students as she teaches them about writing and communicating. Courtney’s New Orleans upbringing has left her with a love for the macabre and a flare for the next to normal. She writes speculative fiction with a variety of horror and sass mixed in for flavor. She loves taking the world of politics that haunts us now, and adding the supernatural to create a gumbo of thrills to keep you up at night. A self-proclaimed lover of way too many fandoms, Courtney also loves crafting. From blankets to jams to stories, it’s always better homemade. View all posts by Courtney Sloan

9 responses to “Chatting about Change: Übermensch revealed

  • Samantha Bryant (@mirymom1)

    The one I’m working hard one right now is getting enough sleep. It seems small, but my short nights are affecting every aspect of my life.

  • Courtney Sloan

    I will say for me, willpower is what I need to change. There is so much I want and need to do, but my follow through has been off for a while. I need to change that, and see what I can reach next.

  • Melissa McShane

    For me, it’s reaching out beyond my immediate circle of friends. I’ve become increasingly introverted in recent years and it disturbs me that I’ve let that get in the way of meeting new people.

  • Amanda

    I need to change my views on certain people in my life and realize that sometimes…it is true…people do not change who they are or how they treat others. I also need to clean up my freaking house…which would be a huge change…and then maybe…just maybe…I will actually let someone come into my house. 🙂

    • Courtney Sloan

      Oh wow. Changing how we see people. One of the hardest things to do. We have to change the mind’s eye which tends to be very slow to update. But often this type of change created a whole new atmosphere that we can grow from. And I’m with you on the house clean up. I have until this weekend and people come over…sigh.

  • Ann Noser

    I agree with Samantha–I need to get more sleep. It’s 75% my fault for getting in bed too late (or watching SHERLOCK on Netflix too late once I’m already in bed) and 25% insomnia.

    • Courtney Sloan

      For me, it’s been Leverage and Daredevil keeping me up for the early part of the night and then just plain old ugly insomnia for the rest of the night. We should start a support group. AWALS- Authors Who Always Lack Sleep.

Leave a Reply

